Staff

The Housing Authority of Champaign County (HACC) is working to change the face of public housing in Champaign County, IL. As one of the leading housing authorities in the state, and one of only 39 Moving to Work Agencies in the country, our Agency provides housing and housing-related services, for over 13,000 citizens of Champaign County.

We provide safe, decent and sanitary housing for the most vulnerable members of our community. HACC also provides so much more than housing. We offer individuals, families, and senior citizens a foundation from which to build successful lives and inspiring investment in self and community through our housing opportunities and programs. We are there for those who need support, and for those who wish to transform their future.

Our team consists of dedicated management and housing professionals. With the continued leadership and assistance from our Board of Commissioners, we remain confident and excited about the opportunities we are able to offer to the community. HACC continues to play a vital role in maintaining the health of our community by building strong public and private partnerships, maintaining a high standard of property maintenance, and helping low-income families move toward economic self-sufficiency.

I believe our future success depends on our willingness to offer our very best to the public as professionals who can demonstrate that they care about people and the community in which they live, work and play! Although we have challenges, we have a much brighter future. We must all come together – residents, staff, governments, businesses, partners, developers, and other stakeholders in our mission/commitment to serve the Champaign-Urbana community with housing opportunities and options. At HACC, we are
committed to “Service Above All Else”, and we believe it shows in everything we do. We look forward to continuing to serve the community, and to helping each resident thrive. #BUILDINGABETTERCHAMPAIGNCOUNTY

The greatest danger for most of us is not that our aim is too high and we miss it, but that it is too low and we reach it.~ Michelangelo

Over the span of 24 years, David A. Northern, Sr. has established a distinguished career in federal housing assistance programs including urban planning and policy development. As Executive Director/CEO, David is responsible for administrative and professional oversight in planning, directing, and coordinating the Housing Authority of Champaign County’s (HACC) varied and complex Housing and Community Development Programs while ensuring compliance with HUD regulations.

HACC is a HUD designated Move To Work Agency that has extensive development and management experience having developed over $100 million dollars of new affordable housing through mixed financing methods. He oversees supervision of $18 million budget, 35 plus staff members that are tax credit certified and provides asset management services and oversight of seven tax credit properties located on land owned and leased by HACC.

HACC’s current portfolio consists of five Rental Assistance Demonstration properties with 254 units; seven Mixed Finance Low Income Housing Tax Credit (LIHTC) communities consisting of a total of 593 units; and, two Mixed Finance communities using no LIHTC with a total of 42 units. In addition to these multi-family rental communities, HACC administers over 1,200 tenant-based vouchers; a homeownership program; and a rental assistance program for homeless veterans. HACC also administers a multitude of resident support and service programs under various HUD and non-HUD grants.

David’s educational background includes a Master of Public Affairs from Indiana University and a Bachelor of Science in Accounting from Ball State University. He also holds a Certificate from the University of Maryland for completion of the Executive Education Program in Housing and Community Development, a Graduate Certificate in Public Management and a Certificate from the Institute for Innovative Leadership Development. David recently completed the University of Harvard’s NeighborWorks Achieving Excellence program.

David is currently the Vice President of the Public Housing Authority Directors Association (DC). He also served formally in the following roles; elected member of the Board of Education for Community Consolidated School District 46, Secretary of the Lake County (IL) Sheriff’s Office Merit Commission and Executive Board member of the Special Education District of Lake County those last three roles had combined budgets of over $130 million and 1,200 staff.

David was invited to participate in a White House Convening on the proposed HUD smoke-free rule in the nation’s public housing with HUD Secretary Julián Castro, Surgeon General Vivek Murthy and other highly notable leaders January 2016. LCHA was ahead of the curve as David led a successful implementation of LCHA’s smoke-free policy in 2011.

Lily Walton, Interim Director of Enrichment Operations: lilyw@hacc.net – 5025

Temeka Edwards, Interim Deputy Director of Housing Operations / HCV: temekae@hacc.net – 5008

Ashley Short, Executive Assistant: ashleys@hacc.net – 5028

John Dailey, Director of Development: johnd@hacc.net – 5013

Jean Wingler, IT and Procurement Manager: jeanw@hacc.net – 5004

TreMayne Joyner, Compliance/Development Manager: tremaynej@hacc.net – 5019

Krystal K. Obasa, Administrative Clerk: krystalo@hacc.net – 5021

 

Miguel Manero, Interim Finance Director: miguelm@hacc.net – 5027

Pat Claiborne, Accounting Clerk: patc@hacc.net – 5003

Deirdre Jackson, Accounting Specialist: deirdrej@hacc.net – 5005

Teitah Taylor, Lead HCV Specialist: teitaht@hacc.net – 5006

Darryl Silver, HCV Inspector: darryls@hacc.net – 5024

Nikki Jones, HCV Specialist (A-D): nikkij@hacc.net – 5042

Debra Lee, HCV Specialist (E-K): debral@hacc.net – 5018

Parisha Carter, HCV Specialist (L-R): parishac@hacc.net – 5023

Nicole Melton, HCV Eligibility Specialist: nicolem@hacc.net – 5026

Audrey Rials, Receptionist: audreyr@hacc.net – 5000

Daronda Harris, HCV Office Clerk: darondah@hacc.net

Wait-list Status – (217).318.3018

Stephanie Burnett, MTW & Client Outreach Manager: stephanieb@hacc.net – 5009

Candace Godbolt, Empowerment Coordinator: candaceg@hacc.net – 5059

James Zielinski, LSS Coordinator: jamesz@hacc.net – 5061

 

Robyn Dodd, Interim Director of Asset Management: robynd@hacc.net – 5081

Daven Scott, Property Manager: davens@hacc.net – 5082

Walter Hines, Maintenance Manager: walterh@hacc.net – 5085

Dave Bartley, Maintenance Manager: daveb@hacc.net – 5085

Jessica Delap, Property Manager: jessicad@hacc.net – 5080

Nicole Hutchison, Property Manager: nicoleh@hacc.net – 5084

 

 

Maintenance

David Graham: davidg@hacc.net

Charlie Lockett: charliel@hacc.net

Curtis Lucks: curtisl@hacc.net

Daniel Sprouls: daniels@hacc.net

David Tribble: davidt@hacc.net

DeWayne Watson: dewaynew@hacc.ne

 

Myrick Shevone, YouthBuild Education Coordinator: shevonem@hacc.net   – 5087

Jobie Taylor, YouthBuild Case Manager: jobiet@hacc.net – 5086

Vincent Andujo, YouthBuild Construction Projects Manager: vincenta@hacc.net – 5015

The Housing Authority of Champaign County – 217.378.7100

The HACC Office of Constituent Concerns – 5001

After Hours Emergency Maintenance – 217.384.6564

HACC Fax Number – 217.378.7113

Wait-list Status – 217.318.3018