Staff

Over the span of 24 years, David A. Northern, Sr. has established a distinguished career in federal housing assistance programs including urban planning and policy development. As Executive Director/CEO, David is responsible for administrative and professional oversight in planning, directing, and coordinating the Housing Authority of Champaign County’s (HACC) varied and complex Housing and Community Development Programs while ensuring compliance with HUD regulations.

HACC is a HUD designated Move To Work Agency that has extensive development and management experience having developed over $100 million dollars of new affordable housing through mixed financing methods. He oversees supervision of $18 million budget, 35 plus staff members that are tax credit certified and provides asset management services and oversight of seven tax credit properties located on land owned and leased by HACC.

HACC’s current portfolio consists of five Rental Assistance Demonstration properties with 254 units; seven Mixed Finance Low Income Housing Tax Credit (LIHTC) communities consisting of a total of 593 units; and, two Mixed Finance communities using no LIHTC with a total of 42 units. In addition to these multi-family rental communities, HACC administers over 1,200 tenant-based vouchers; a homeownership program; and a rental assistance program for homeless veterans. HACC also administers a multitude of resident support and service programs under various HUD and non-HUD grants.

David’s educational background includes a Master of Public Affairs from Indiana University and a Bachelor of Science in Accounting from Ball State University. He also holds a Certificate from the University of Maryland for completion of the Executive Education Program in Housing and Community Development, a Graduate Certificate in Public Management and a Certificate from the Institute for Innovative Leadership Development. David recently completed the University of Harvard’s NeighborWorks Achieving Excellence program.

David is currently the Vice President of the Public Housing Authority Directors Association (DC). He also served formally in the following roles; elected member of the Board of Education for Community Consolidated School District 46, Secretary of the Lake County (IL) Sheriff’s Office Merit Commission and Executive Board member of the Special Education District of Lake County those last three roles had combined budgets of over $130 million and 1,200 staff.

David was invited to participate in a White House Convening on the proposed HUD smoke-free rule in the nation’s public housing with HUD Secretary Julián Castro, Surgeon General Vivek Murthy and other highly notable leaders January 2016. LCHA was ahead of the curve as David led a successful implementation of LCHA’s smoke-free policy in 2011.

Lily Walton, Executive Administrator: lilyw@hacc.net – 5028

John Dailey, Director of Development: johnd@hacc.net – 5013

Jean Wingler, IT and Procurement Manager: jeanw@hacc.net – 5004

TreMayne Joyner, Compliance/Development Manager: tremaynej@hacc.net – 5019

Candace Godbolt, Empowerment Coordinator: candaceg@hacc.net – 5059

Krystal K. Obasa, Administrative Clerk: krystalo@hacc.net – 5021

Audrey Rials, Receptionist: audreyr@hacc.net – 5000

Matt Garard, Chief Financial Officer: mattg@hacc.net – 5002

Miguel Manero, Senior Accountant: miguelm@hacc.net – 5027

Pat Claiborne, Accounting Specialist: patc@hacc.net – 5003

Deirdre Jackson, Accounting Specialist: deirdrej@hacc.net – 5005

Temeka Edwards, HCVP Director: temekae@hacc.net – 5008

Teitah Taylor, Lead HCVP Specialist: teitaht@hacc.net – 5006

Darryl Silver, HCVP Inspector: darryls@hacc.net – 5024

Parisha Carter, HCVP Specialist: parishac@hacc.net – 5023

Jennifer Popis, HCVP Specialist: jenniferp@hacc.net – 5042

Debra Lee, HCVP Specialist: debral@hacc.net – 5018

Wait-list Status – (217).318.3018

Stephanie Burnett, Family Self-Sufficiency Manager: stephanieb@hacc.net – 5009

Nydia Mercado, LSS Coordinator: nydiam@hacc.net – 5061

Ashley Short, LSS Coordinator: ashleys@hacc.net – 5025

Monique James, LSS Coordinator: moniquej@hacc.net – 5022

Robyn Dodd, Interim Director of Asset Management: robynd@hacc.net – 5084

Walter Hines, Maintenance Manager: walterh@hacc.net – 5085

Dave Bartley, Maintenance Manager: daveb@hacc.net – 5085

Jessica Delap, Property Manager: jessicad@hacc.net – 5080

Nicole Melton, Property Manager: nicolem@hacc.net – 5082

Stacie Langendorf, Leasing Specialist: staciel@hacc.net – 5086

The Housing Authority of Champaign County – 217.378.7100

The HACC Office of Constituent Concerns – 5001

After Hours Emergency Maintenance – 217.384.6564

Wait-list Status – 217.318.3018