Board of Commissioners

Dr. Grant HenryDr. Grant Henry, Chairman

Has been appointed since 2004 by the Champaign County Board. Earned a Ph.D. in the College of Applied Life Sciences from the University of Illinois. Commissioner Henry is a retired school administrator who has lived in the Champaign community as an avid Illini fan. Dr. Henry has enjoyed serving as a member of the University of Illinois Alumni Board, Illinois Connection, Illini Rebounders and Quarterback Clubs.



 Reverend Rickey Parks, Vice Chair

Has been appointed since 2019 by the City of Champaign. A proud native of the state of Arkansas, Reverend Rickey E. Parks, Pastor of the Pilgrim Missionary Baptist Church, Champaign, Illinois, hails from the city of Pine Bluff, where he developed a love and sense of compassion for others.

He graduated from Watson Chapel High School in 1981. In 1986, he received a Bachelor of Science Degree in Community Recreation in Physical Education and Master of Science Degree in Secondary Education from the University of Arkansas, Pine Bluff.

Pastor Parks was licensed to preach the Gospel on June 15, 1997 and was ordained as a Minister on June 27, 1999. In 2002, Pastor Parks was called and served at pastor of Star Bethel Missionary Baptist Church, Wabbaseka, Arkansas.

In January 2008, Reverend Parks accepted the God’s new divine assignment as the Pilgrim Missionary Baptist Church family in Champaign, Illinois confirmed God’s appointment and called him as its eighth pastor. In December of 2008, he ordained his first minister, Rev. Steve Gilbert.


Linda TurnbullLinda Turnbull, Resident Advisor

Has been appointed since 2015 by the Champaign County Board. Earned a BA in General Studies and MS in Training and Development Technology from Eastern Illinois University. Commissioner Turnbull currently works at Champaign-Urbana Area Project under the National and Community Service AmeriCorps Vista Program.  She is a 2016 Dave Benton Difference Maker STAR Award winner, along with earning many other awards for her service and efforts within the Champaign County community.


Rebecca ObuchowskiRebecca Obuchowski

Appointed by the City of Urbana, 2018. Earned a BA in Sociology from Beloit College and a M.Ed. in Special Education from UIUC. Rebecca Obuchowski currently works as the Executive Director of Community Choices, a non-profit and human service cooperative in Champaign serving adults with intellectual/developmental disabilities and their families. She has worked in the field of support, education, and advocacy for people with disabilities for over ten years.  Rebecca also serves on the Channing-Murray board of governors and a is life-long resident of the Champaign-Urbana area.


Bailee VanAntwerp

Commissioner Bailee VanAntwerp has been a part of the Community since 2015 when she started her work at the Crisis Nursery. Since then, she has earned her bachelor of social work and has one semester left of her Master of Social Work degree. Commissioner VanAntwerp has been in her role as the Emergency Assistance Case Manager at the City of Champaign Township since January of 2020. During this time, She has met many community members and has been able to learn a tremendous amount of information from them in regards to what our community needs in order to not only survive, but thrive. She still has a lot to learn and recognizes that she is no “expert” on housing, but she is on this board to bring our community’s ideas and suggestions to life!


Please note that the HACC Board Meeting schedule is subject to change due to the availability of the board commissioners, holidays, and inclement weather. A public notice will be sent out to the public regarding changes to Board Meeting dates.

When: 4th Thursday of the Month

Time: 3:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Where: 2008 North Market Street Champaign, IL 61822

  • January 27, 2022
  • February 24, 2022
  • March 24, 2022
  • April 28, 2022
  • May 26, 2022
  • June 23, 2022
  • July 28, 2022
  • August 25, 2022
  • September 22, 2022
  • October 27, 2022
  • November 17, 2022
  • December 15, 2022